← Back to the manufacturer comparison
Official manufacturer product image used for editorial identification; no endorsement implied. Official image source (opens in a new tab).
Independent shopper guide · Rheem
Rheem ProTerra PROPH40 RH375-SO buying guide
A 240V Professional Prestige ProTerra with LeakGuard, automatic shutoff, EcoNet Wi-Fi, and 40-, 50-, 65-, and 80-gallon family variants. Separate Rheem 120V plug-in models exist, but the pictured professional 40-gallon model is a 240V product.
Shopper guide · about 8 minutes.
Editorial synthesis awaiting refresh. Each specification, price, and review source below remains governed by its own displayed source date and may still be current.
Buying guide details
Same product line, different fit
Compare size, price, room air and noise
Use first-hour rating—not tank size alone—to compare hot-water delivery. Prices are exact-size public observations before tax, shipping, installation and rebates, and can change at any time. Room-air and sound figures keep their exact source scope and qualifications.
These rows compare the 240V Professional Prestige T2 RH375-SO family. Separate Rheem plug-in products are different models.
| Size and model | Lowest current price | Product dimensions | Minimum room air | Noise level (dBA) | Rated storage | First-hour rating | UEF | Power / circuit | Empty weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 galPROPH40 T2 RH375-SONarrowest ProTerra in this family. | Price withheld pending our next source check Home Depot View retailer source for PROPH40 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab) Same-brand, same-capacity 40-gallon Performance Platinum retail counterpart, not the exact professional PROPH model. Home Depot's existing Liberty / ZIP 64157 reference session showed quantity 1, enabled Add to Cart and 66 available; delivery September 11–12, ship to store September 21–24. Single-unit equipment price excludes the bulk tier, optional installation, protection plans and financing. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 62 5/16 in H × 20 1/4 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ventilation/ductingRequirement detailsUnducted rooms above 700 ft³ need no added ventilation. Below 700 ft³ use a fully louvered door or top/bottom louvers; the small-closet arrangement requires an 18 in² / 0.75-in door gap plus an exhaust-height louver and exhaust within 12 in of the door. One-duct layouts require the stated transfer opening; both inlet and outlet ducted permits any-size room with no added ventilation. No lower universal numeric volume is stated. Installation source for PROPH40 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
49 dBASound evidencemanufacturer exact-model table; distance/mode not stated Sound source for PROPH40 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
36 gal | 60 gal | 3.75 | 240V 30A |
174 lb |
| 50 galPROPH50 T2 RH375-SOSlightly shorter and wider than the 40. | Price withheld pending our next source check Home Depot View retailer source for PROPH50 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab) Same-brand, same-capacity 50-gallon Performance Platinum retail counterpart, not the exact professional PROPH model. Home Depot's existing Liberty / ZIP 64157 reference session showed quantity 1, enabled Add to Cart and 53 available; delivery September 14–16, ship to store September 11–16. Single-unit equipment price excludes the bulk tier, optional installation, protection plans and financing. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 61 3/4 in H × 22 1/4 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ventilation/ductingRequirement detailsUnducted rooms above 700 ft³ need no added ventilation. Below 700 ft³ use a fully louvered door or top/bottom louvers; the small-closet arrangement requires an 18 in² / 0.75-in door gap plus an exhaust-height louver and exhaust within 12 in of the door. One-duct layouts require the stated transfer opening; both inlet and outlet ducted permits any-size room with no added ventilation. No lower universal numeric volume is stated. Installation source for PROPH50 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
49 dBASound evidencemanufacturer exact-model table; distance/mode not stated Sound source for PROPH50 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
45 gal | 67 gal | 3.75 | 240V 30A |
218 lb |
| 65 galPROPH65 T2 RH375-SOLarger cabinet with higher first-hour delivery. | Price withheld pending our next source check Home Depot View retailer source for PROPH65 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab) Same-brand, same-capacity 65-gallon Performance Platinum retail counterpart, not the exact professional PROPH model. Home Depot's existing Liberty / ZIP 64157 reference session showed quantity 1, enabled Add to Cart and 17 available; delivery September 17–19, ship to store September 11–16. Single-unit equipment price excludes the bulk tier, optional installation, protection plans and financing. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 64 3/16 in H × 24 1/4 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ventilation/ductingRequirement detailsUnducted rooms above 700 ft³ need no added ventilation. Below 700 ft³ use a fully louvered door or top/bottom louvers; the small-closet arrangement requires an 18 in² / 0.75-in door gap plus an exhaust-height louver and exhaust within 12 in of the door. One-duct layouts require the stated transfer opening; both inlet and outlet ducted permits any-size room with no added ventilation. No lower universal numeric volume is stated. Installation source for PROPH65 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
49 dBASound evidencemanufacturer exact-model table; distance/mode not stated Sound source for PROPH65 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
59 gal | 75 gal | 3.85 | 240V 30A |
262 lb |
| 80 galPROPH80 T2 RH375-SOTallest ProTerra in this family. | Price withheld pending our next source check Home Depot View retailer source for PROPH80 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab) Same-brand, same-capacity 80-gallon Performance Platinum retail counterpart, not the exact professional PROPH model. Home Depot's existing Liberty / ZIP 64157 reference session showed quantity 1, enabled Add to Cart and 12 available; delivery September 17–19, ship to store September 22–25. Single-unit equipment price excludes the bulk tier, optional installation, protection plans and financing. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 74 3/16 in H × 24 1/4 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ventilation/ductingRequirement detailsUnducted rooms above 700 ft³ need no added ventilation. Below 700 ft³ use a fully louvered door or top/bottom louvers; the small-closet arrangement requires an 18 in² / 0.75-in door gap plus an exhaust-height louver and exhaust within 12 in of the door. One-duct layouts require the stated transfer opening; both inlet and outlet ducted permits any-size room with no added ventilation. No lower universal numeric volume is stated. Installation source for PROPH80 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
49 dBASound evidencemanufacturer exact-model table; distance/mode not stated Sound source for PROPH80 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab). |
72 gal | 87 gal | 4 | 240V 30A |
281 lb |
Check the official size specification from Rheem ProTerra with LeakGuard specification sheet (opens in a new tab). Final dimensions and requirements must be confirmed against the exact model ordered.
Ownership essentials
Warranty and connected controls
Confirm coverage terms and supported controls for the exact model before purchase.
- Warranty
- Rheem states a 10-year limited tank and parts warranty for this exact Professional Prestige model. Written terms control labor, registration, installation, and exclusions.Official warranty terms for Rheem PROPH40 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab)
- Smart-home control
- Built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi supports temperature adjustment, energy-use tracking, and vacation mode from a mobile device.Official controls source for Rheem PROPH40 T2 RH375-SO (opens in a new tab)
Pros
- EcoNet controls, LeakGuard, automatic shutoff, and a 10-year limited tank/parts warranty are documented for the exact page.
- The manufacturer line spans 40–80 gallons and also offers separate 120V plug-in products.
Cons
- Its published 49 dBA family figure is higher than GE Profile's as-low-as 41 dBA, LG's mode-specific 42–45 dBA, and A. O. Smith's 45 dBA disclosures. Test conditions are not matched, so these numbers alone cannot predict installed loudness.
- At comparable 50-, 65-, and 80-gallon sizes, its verified first-hour ratings of 67, 75, and 87 gallons trail GE Profile's 75, 86, and 101 gallons.
Independent reading guide · not affiliated with Reddit
The discussions, with the context
What people say about Rheem on Reddit
These are ProTerra-family and explicitly named retail-model accounts, not an exact Professional-series owner sample. Outcomes are mixed; the threads are useful for installation and service questions, not estimating a failure rate.
Hot-water delivery is installation-specific
A 65-gallon retail owner reports improved peak delivery after adding a mixing valve and acceptable noise. Other replies report different experiences. This does not establish Professional-series capacity or an installation prescription.
Based on discussion 2: My experience with converting to a Rheem heatpump water heater.
Controls, sensors and service recur in the discussion
Owners describe sensor replacements, control-board issues and difficulty finding local service, alongside installations that work well. Self-selected troubleshooting threads cannot establish how common those problems are.
Based on discussion 1: Rheem Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater Issues · discussion 2: My experience with converting to a Rheem heatpump water heater.
Keep individual complaints in proportion
The XE50T10HS45U0 account covers element failures, overheating troubleshooting and replacement complications. It is one retail-model history—not a diagnosis for another unit or a verdict on every ProTerra.
Explore the discussions
Read our summaries here. Each original thread opens on Reddit only if you choose to follow its link.
r/heatpumps · Owner troubleshooting and updates
01Rheem Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater Issues on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
A ProTerra owner describes repeated thermistor repairs and replacement tanks, with limited local service availability. Replies include continued satisfactory operation and a control-board replacement for incorrect energy reporting. This family discussion contains contrasting anecdotes, not a measured product failure rate.
Which model does this cover? ProTerra is named, but an exact model number and capacity are not established. Replies span different installations.
r/heatpumps · Owner installation experience
02My experience with converting to a Rheem heatpump water heater. on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
The initiating owner identifies XE65T10H45U1 and reports improved hot-water delivery after adding a mixing valve, with acceptable noise. Replies discuss energy-meter accuracy, condensate faults and reported control problems. These varied installations provide family context, not evidence for every Professional-series model.
Which model does this cover? The initiating owner identifies the 65-gallon retail model. It is family context, not exact-model evidence for Professional-series PROPH suffixes. Named model labels: XE65T10H45U1.
r/heatpumps · Individual owner complaint
03Rheem ProTerra 50 Gal. 10-Year Hybrid High Efficiency Smart Tank Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection & Auto Shutoff Model #XE50T10HS45U0 Home Depot on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
The poster identifies XE50T10HS45U0 and describes repeated element failures, overheating concerns, troubleshooting and replacement-delivery problems. Updates detail continuing frustration while awaiting the correct tank. This is an individual retail-model complaint, not independently confirmed diagnosis or proof about all ProTerra units.
Which model does this cover? The title identifies the retail model. It is not the exact Professional-series model represented by the site's Rheem guide. Named model labels: XE50T10HS45U0.
How we read and use these discussions
These are our original summaries of publicly retrieved posts and comments, not a live Reddit feed or a verified-purchase review collection. The displayed date records our research read; a retrieved copy may lag the live thread. We do not claim to include every comment or verify owner identities. Questions, commercial participation, different capacities and generations stay labeled.
We do not turn thread participants into review totals, combine them with retailer ratings, infer failure rates, or use their quoted prices as current offers. Dated reading notes remain available as research; ratings and other time-sensitive source observations have separate expiry rules. Editorial re-reading is due seven days after the recorded read, without automatically changing that date.
Equipment prices, not installed quotes
Where to buy and what it costs
We check Home Depot, Lowe’s, Menards and SupplyHouse.com first. Prices exclude installation, permits, accessories, tax, shipping and rebates unless explicitly stated.
No eligible current seller price is available. A new source check is required before an amount can appear; expired prices are withheld.
Direct, non-affiliate links. Family-variant and list prices are labeled; neither means the pictured exact model is in local stock.
Validate the product evidence
Official specifications and documents
Use these primary manufacturer documents to verify the comparison facts for the exact model.