← Back to the manufacturer comparison
Official manufacturer product image used for editorial identification; no endorsement implied. Official image source (opens in a new tab).
Independent shopper guide · GE Profile
GE Profile GeoSpring PH50S10BNY buying guide
A current 240V GeoSpring with a 50-gallon nominal tank, SmartHQ controls, and an official as-low-as 41 dBA sound statement. GE also offers 40-, 65-, and 80-gallon models and separate 120V products; exact suffixes matter.
Shopper guide · about 8 minutes.
Editorial synthesis awaiting refresh. Each specification, price, and review source below remains governed by its own displayed source date and may still be current.
Buying guide details
Same product line, different fit
Compare size, price, room air and noise
Use first-hour rating—not tank size alone—to compare hot-water delivery. Prices are exact-size public observations before tax, shipping, installation and rebates, and can change at any time. Room-air and sound figures keep their exact source scope and qualifications.
Representative 240V models are shown. GE also offers separate 120V FlexCapacity versions; the exact suffix changes delivery, efficiency, breaker, and mixing-valve configuration.
| Size and model | Lowest current price | Product dimensions | Minimum room air | Noise level (dBA) | Rated storage | First-hour rating | UEF | Power / circuit | Empty weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 galPH40S10BPY40-gallon 240V version with integrated mixing valve. | Price withheld pending our next source check Wayfair View retailer source for PH40S10BPY (opens in a new tab) Verification blocked September 6, 2026 at 02:15:59 UTC: PH40S10BPY and $2,178 appeared, then a human-verification challenge prevented confirming orderability. The earlier complete price observation and its original clocks are retained for audit only. This failed check does not establish sold-out inventory or renew delivery terms. The retailer page could not be verified during our last check. Its inventory is unknown, not confirmed sold out; a new verified observation is required before this listing can supply a current price. | 59 1/2 in H × 24 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ≥240 in² louvers/ductingRequirement detailsGE requires at least 700 ft³ for the common indoor installation. A smaller room is allowed with a fully louvered door, two louvered sections at the top and bottom, or the GE duct kit. Louvers must provide at least 240 in² / 0.15 m² open area. The manual does not state a lower universal numeric volume. Installation source for PH40S10BPY (opens in a new tab). |
41 dBASound evidenceENERGY STAR exact-record sound_pressure_level; NEEA 8.1 manufacturer context Sound source for PH40S10BPY (opens in a new tab). Second source for PH40S10BPY (opens in a new tab). |
40 gal | 64 gal | 4.2 | 240V 30A dedicated |
165 lb |
| 50 galPH50S10BNYRepresentative non-mixing-valve size reviewed on this page. | Unavailable at this retailer GE Appliances View retailer source for PH50S10BNY (opens in a new tab) The exact manufacturer listing displayed $2,199 but was Out of Stock, so it is excluded from current price claims. Excluded from every lowest-price claim. A current amount appears only after we verify and publish a new eligible seller observation. | 68 1/4 in H × 24 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ≥240 in² louvers/ductingRequirement detailsGE requires at least 700 ft³ for the common indoor installation. A smaller room is allowed with a fully louvered door, two louvered sections at the top and bottom, or the GE duct kit. Louvers must provide at least 240 in² / 0.15 m² open area. The manual does not state a lower universal numeric volume. Installation source for PH50S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
41 dBASound evidenceENERGY STAR exact-record sound_pressure_level; NEEA 8.1 manufacturer context Sound source for PH50S10BNY (opens in a new tab). Second source for PH50S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
50 gal | 75 gal | 4.5 | 240V 30A dedicated |
177 lb |
| 65 galPH65S10BNYShorter than the 50 but three inches wider. | Price withheld pending our next source check Nebraska Furniture Mart View retailer source for PH65S10BNY (opens in a new tab) Exact PH65S10BNY, SKU 69855245: quantity 1 and enabled Add to Cart. Existing reference ZIP 64119 is not a homeowner location. Order Today; not on display, with estimated Kansas City store arrival November 7, 2026. Professional installation is separate; no immediate stock was established. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 67 1/8 in H × 27 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ≥240 in² louvers/ductingRequirement detailsGE requires at least 700 ft³ for the common indoor installation. A smaller room is allowed with a fully louvered door, two louvered sections at the top and bottom, or the GE duct kit. Louvers must provide at least 240 in² / 0.15 m² open area. The manual does not state a lower universal numeric volume. Installation source for PH65S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
41 dBASound evidenceENERGY STAR exact-record sound_pressure_level; NEEA 8.1 manufacturer context Sound source for PH65S10BNY (opens in a new tab). Second source for PH65S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
65 gal | 86 gal | 4.3 | 240V 30A dedicated |
269 lb |
| 80 galPH80S10BNYLargest non-mixing-valve 240V version in the reviewed sheet. | Price withheld pending our next source check Wayfair View retailer source for PH80S10BNY (opens in a new tab) Exact PH80S10BNY / GHRO1042, 80 gallon, 240V: quantity 1 and enabled Add to Cart. Existing reference ZIP 64106 showed room-of-choice delivery estimated September 14; this is not a national arrival or stock guarantee. Optional rewards and credit incentives are excluded. Destination, availability, timing, freight and checkout terms can vary. The earlier amount lacks current evidence. We withhold it until we verify and publish a new eligible observation. | 76 3/8 in H × 27 in diameter | 700 ft³; smaller w/ ≥240 in² louvers/ductingRequirement detailsGE requires at least 700 ft³ for the common indoor installation. A smaller room is allowed with a fully louvered door, two louvered sections at the top and bottom, or the GE duct kit. Louvers must provide at least 240 in² / 0.15 m² open area. The manual does not state a lower universal numeric volume. Installation source for PH80S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
41 dBASound evidenceENERGY STAR exact-record sound_pressure_level; NEEA 8.1 manufacturer context Sound source for PH80S10BNY (opens in a new tab). Second source for PH80S10BNY (opens in a new tab). |
80 gal | 101 gal | 4.5 | 240V 30A dedicated |
331 lb |
Check the official size specification from GE Profile GeoSpring U.S. feature and specification sheet (opens in a new tab). Final dimensions and requirements must be confirmed against the exact model ordered.
Ownership essentials
Warranty and connected controls
Confirm coverage terms and supported controls for the exact model before purchase.
- Warranty
- GE and reviewed retail documentation identify a 10-year limited tank and parts warranty plus one-year entire-appliance coverage. The written warranty controls exclusions and service terms.Official warranty terms for GE Profile PH50S10BNY01 (opens in a new tab)
- Smart-home control
- Built-in Wi-Fi and SmartHQ support monitoring and control; the consumer page also identifies Alexa and Google Assistant compatibility.Official controls source for GE Profile PH50S10BNY01 (opens in a new tab)
Pros
- GE documents sound as low as 41 dBA under NEEA Advanced Water Heating Specification 8.1, plus SmartHQ, Alexa, and Google Assistant controls. The sound figure is not a guarantee across operating modes or installation conditions.
- The family includes both 120V and 240V choices across multiple tank sizes.
Cons
- Its 80-gallon model weighs 331 pounds empty, roughly 50 pounds more than the verified Rheem 80 and about 40 pounds more than the Rinnai 80, making handling harder.
- The family needs 700 ft³ of unvented room air, compared with 450 ft³ for the A. O. Smith HPTA line, so it can be harder to place in a small enclosed room.
Independent reading guide · not affiliated with Reddit
The discussions, with the context
What people say about GE Profile on Reddit
These threads concern current GeoSpring shopping and early ownership, with BNY/BPY and capacity differences clearly retained. Older red-top GeoSpring failure reports are a separate generation, not evidence against the current models.
Noise and connected features stand out
Current-family owners discuss compressor sound, app estimates of remaining hot water and early energy use. These are subjective or app-reported observations rather than controlled measurements.
Recovery depends on the configuration
A 50-gallon shopping thread brings together installation, recovery and operating-mode experiences. BNY and BPY configurations and different capacities should not be treated as interchangeable.
Based on discussion 2: Anyone with experience/opinions on GE Profile heat pump water heaters?
A useful comparison, not a winner
The PH65S10BPY versus LG discussion weighs capacity, controls and installation. It also includes a sound concern from a 50-gallon owner; it does not establish current prices or comparative reliability.
Based on discussion 3: GE GeoSpring PH65S10BPY vs LG APHWC501M water heater
Explore the discussions
Read our summaries here. Each original thread opens on Reddit only if you choose to follow its link.
r/heatpumps · Owner experiences
01GE Geospring Heat Pump Water Heater on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
Current GeoSpring owners compare compressor sound, app estimates of remaining hot water, and early energy use. Experiences differ between 50- and 80-gallon installations. Older red-top failures are separate-generation anecdotes, not evidence about the current models.
Which model does this cover? current GeoSpring family; 50- and 80-gallon owners, exact suffixes unstated
r/heatpumps · Shopping and owner follow-ups
02Anyone with experience/opinions on GE Profile heat pump water heaters? on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
Shoppers seek current GeoSpring availability and owners describe early installations, hot-water recovery, operating modes, app controls, and sound. One explicitly reviews PH50S10BPY. Comments span capacities and electrical variants; early experiences do not establish long-term reliability.
Which model does this cover? exact PH50S10BNY01/PH50S10BPY01 shopping question; related current-family owner comments including PH50S10BPY
r/heatpumps · Comparison and owner follow-ups
03GE GeoSpring PH65S10BPY vs LG APHWC501M water heater on Reddit (opens in a new tab)
A shopper compares GE PH65S10BPY with LG APHWC501M, weighing capacity, controls, availability, and installation. Replies discuss sourcing and a 50-gallon owner's sound concerns. Posted prices and claimed specifications remain anecdotal, not current verified offers.
Which model does this cover? exact PH65S10BPY comparison question; current GeoSpring family context for 50-gallon guide
How we read and use these discussions
These are our original summaries of publicly retrieved posts and comments, not a live Reddit feed or a verified-purchase review collection. The displayed date records our research read; a retrieved copy may lag the live thread. We do not claim to include every comment or verify owner identities. Questions, commercial participation, different capacities and generations stay labeled.
We do not turn thread participants into review totals, combine them with retailer ratings, infer failure rates, or use their quoted prices as current offers. Dated reading notes remain available as research; ratings and other time-sensitive source observations have separate expiry rules. Editorial re-reading is due seven days after the recorded read, without automatically changing that date.
Equipment prices, not installed quotes
Where to buy and what it costs
We check Home Depot, Lowe’s, Menards and SupplyHouse.com first. Prices exclude installation, permits, accessories, tax, shipping and rebates unless explicitly stated.
No eligible current seller price is available. A new source check is required before an amount can appear; expired prices are withheld.
Direct, non-affiliate links. Family-variant and list prices are labeled; neither means the pictured exact model is in local stock.
Validate the product evidence
Official specifications and documents
Use these primary manufacturer documents to verify the comparison facts for the exact model.