← Back to the manufacturer comparison

A. O. Smith HPTA-50 heat pump water heater Official manufacturer product image used for editorial identification; no endorsement implied. Official image source (opens in a new tab).

Independent shopper guide · A. O. Smith

A. O. Smith Voltex MAX HPTA-50 buying guide

A premium 240V integrated heat-pump water heater with a 46-gallon ENERGY STAR-listed storage volume, smart connectivity, leak protection features, and 40-, 50-, 66-, and 80-gallon nominal family choices. Separate 120V HPTV models exist, but they are different products and should not be confused with this 240V HPTA-50.

Shopper guide · about 8 minutes.
Editorial synthesis awaiting refresh. Each specification, price, and review source below remains governed by its own displayed source date and may still be current.

Buying guide details

Same product line, different fit

Compare size, price, room air and noise

Use first-hour rating—not tank size alone—to compare hot-water delivery. Prices are exact-size public observations before tax, shipping, installation and rebates, and can change at any time. Room-air and sound figures keep their exact source scope and qualifications.

These rows compare the 208–240V HPTA family. The separate 120V HPTV line is not interchangeable with these models.

Exact-size advertised price, dimensions, minimum room air, noise, and performance for each offered size
Size and modelLowest current priceProduct dimensionsMinimum room airNoise level (dBA)Rated storageFirst-hour ratingUEFPower / circuitEmpty weight
40 galHPTA-40Smallest HPTA footprint and delivery. Price withheld pending our next source check AF Supply View retailer source for HPTA-40 (opens in a new tab) Historical price observation only. On 2026-09-05 the exact HPTA-40 page was unavailable for live verification behind the seller security challenge, so it is excluded from current price claims. The retailer page could not be verified during our last check. Its inventory is unknown, not confirmed sold out; a new verified observation is required before this listing can supply a current price. 64 3/4 in H × 20 in diameter 450 ft³; 84 ft³ w/ air exchange
Requirement detailsThe current HPTA Series 210 manual requires at least 450 ft³ without added air exchange. Enclosures from 84–449 ft³ are permitted only with one of the manual's transfer-air arrangements: fully louvered door; upper and lower wall grilles; or upper grille plus a 3/4-in door undercut / at least 18 in² net free opening. Each wall grille must be at least 22 × 6 in or 130 in² net free area. Factory duct adapters are also supported; follow the duct section rather than treating 84 ft³ as an unconditional minimum. Installation source for HPTA-40 (opens in a new tab).
45 dBA
Sound evidencemanufacturer operation statement; measurement distance/mode not stated Sound source for HPTA-40 (opens in a new tab).
36 gal 55 gal 3.6 208–240V
30A
191 lb
50 galHPTA-50Representative size reviewed on this page. Price withheld pending our next source check AF Supply View retailer source for HPTA-50 (opens in a new tab) Historical price observation only. On 2026-09-05 the exact HPTA-50 page was unavailable for live verification behind the seller security challenge, so its indexed amount is excluded from current price claims. The retailer page could not be verified during our last check. Its inventory is unknown, not confirmed sold out; a new verified observation is required before this listing can supply a current price. 63 in H × 22 in diameter 450 ft³; 84 ft³ w/ air exchange
Requirement detailsThe current HPTA Series 210 manual requires at least 450 ft³ without added air exchange. Enclosures from 84–449 ft³ are permitted only with one of the manual's transfer-air arrangements: fully louvered door; upper and lower wall grilles; or upper grille plus a 3/4-in door undercut / at least 18 in² net free opening. Each wall grille must be at least 22 × 6 in or 130 in² net free area. Factory duct adapters are also supported; follow the duct section rather than treating 84 ft³ as an unconditional minimum. Installation source for HPTA-50 (opens in a new tab).
45 dBA
Sound evidencemanufacturer operation statement; measurement distance/mode not stated Sound source for HPTA-50 (opens in a new tab).
46 gal 65 gal 3.68 208–240V
30A
196 lb
66 galHPTA-66Shorter but substantially wider and heavier than the 50. Price withheld pending our next source check AF Supply View retailer source for HPTA-66 (opens in a new tab) Historical price observation only. On 2026-09-05 the exact HPTA-66 page was unavailable for live verification behind the seller security challenge, so its indexed amount is excluded from current price claims. The retailer page could not be verified during our last check. Its inventory is unknown, not confirmed sold out; a new verified observation is required before this listing can supply a current price. 61 1/2 in H × 26 1/2 in diameter 450 ft³; 84 ft³ w/ air exchange
Requirement detailsThe current HPTA Series 210 manual requires at least 450 ft³ without added air exchange. Enclosures from 84–449 ft³ are permitted only with one of the manual's transfer-air arrangements: fully louvered door; upper and lower wall grilles; or upper grille plus a 3/4-in door undercut / at least 18 in² net free opening. Each wall grille must be at least 22 × 6 in or 130 in² net free area. Factory duct adapters are also supported; follow the duct section rather than treating 84 ft³ as an unconditional minimum. Installation source for HPTA-66 (opens in a new tab).
45 dBA
Sound evidencemanufacturer operation statement; measurement distance/mode not stated Sound source for HPTA-66 (opens in a new tab).
68 gal 83 gal 3.84 208–240V
30A
284 lb
80 galHPTA-80Highest HPTA storage and first-hour delivery. Price withheld pending our next source check AF Supply View retailer source for HPTA-80 (opens in a new tab) Historical price observation only. On 2026-09-05 the exact HPTA-80 page was unavailable for live verification behind the seller security challenge, so its indexed amount is excluded from current price claims. The retailer page could not be verified during our last check. Its inventory is unknown, not confirmed sold out; a new verified observation is required before this listing can supply a current price. 69 in H × 26 1/2 in diameter 450 ft³; 84 ft³ w/ air exchange
Requirement detailsThe current HPTA Series 210 manual requires at least 450 ft³ without added air exchange. Enclosures from 84–449 ft³ are permitted only with one of the manual's transfer-air arrangements: fully louvered door; upper and lower wall grilles; or upper grille plus a 3/4-in door undercut / at least 18 in² net free opening. Each wall grille must be at least 22 × 6 in or 130 in² net free area. Factory duct adapters are also supported; follow the duct section rather than treating 84 ft³ as an unconditional minimum. Installation source for HPTA-80 (opens in a new tab).
45 dBA
Sound evidencemanufacturer operation statement; measurement distance/mode not stated Sound source for HPTA-80 (opens in a new tab).
81 gal 95 gal 3.88 208–240V
30A
302 lb

Check the official size specification from A. O. Smith Voltex MAX specification sheet (opens in a new tab). Final dimensions and requirements must be confirmed against the exact model ordered.

Ownership essentials

Warranty and connected controls

Confirm coverage terms and supported controls for the exact model before purchase.

Warranty
Manufacturer page states a 10-year limited tank and parts warranty. Coverage conditions, labor, registration, installation, exclusions, and proof requirements remain controlled by the written warranty.Official warranty terms for A. O. Smith HPTA-50 210 (opens in a new tab)
Smart-home control
Built-in iCOMM smart connectivity supports app alerts and notifications. ENERGY STAR separately lists CTA-2045 demand-response connectivity.Official controls source for A. O. Smith HPTA-50 210 (opens in a new tab)

Pros

  • 45 dBA manufacturer sound claim and app-connected controls are both documented for the exact page.
  • Four nominal tank sizes and separate 120V models give the manufacturer line broad sizing and electrical options.

Cons

  • At 50 gallons, the verified 65-gallon first-hour rating and 3.68 UEF trail the GE Profile 50 at 75 gallons and 4.5 UEF, and the Rinnai 50 at 73 gallons and 3.75 UEF.
  • Its published 45 dBA figure is higher than GE Profile's as-low-as 41 dBA and LG's 42 dBA low-mode claim. Comparable test conditions were not established, so these disclosures do not show which unit will sound quieter in your installation.
Reddit

Independent reading guide · not affiliated with Reddit

The discussions, with the context

What people say about A. O. Smith on Reddit

Useful HPTA context exists, but these threads mix generations and retail model families. They do not establish a failure rate or a reliable verdict on the exact HPTA-50.

Hot water, noise and app friction

A later HPTA-66 comment reports enough hot water, quiet running and low electricity use, with inconvenient app logins. Those are individual impressions, not measured HPTA-50 results.

Based on discussion 1: A.O. Smith heat pump water heater — would not recommend

Failures and the cost of support

Other A. O. Smith owners describe failures and labor charges; one replacement continued working. The oldest initiating failure concerns HPTU, not HPTA. Read the model boundary before treating a complaint as relevant.

Based on discussion 1: A.O. Smith heat pump water heater — would not recommend · discussion 2: AO smith heat pump water heaters

Buying is not the same as owning

An HPTA-80 selection explains how one homeowner weighed contractor quotes. It does not establish installed performance, current pricing or long-term reliability.

Based on discussion 3: Heat Pump Water Heaters

Explore the discussions

Read our summaries here. Each original thread opens on Reddit only if you choose to follow its link.

r/heatpumps · Mixed-generation owner reports

A.O. Smith heat pump water heater — would not recommend on Reddit (opens in a new tab)

Discussion starts with an older HPTU-50N failure and warranty labor costs. Later HPTA-66 commentary reports adequate hot water, quiet operation and low electricity use, alongside app-login inconvenience. Mixed generations and self-selected anecdotes cannot establish current HPTA reliability or failure rates.

Which model does this cover? The initiating post concerns older HPTU-50N equipment. A later comment names HPTA-66. Neither the whole thread nor the initiating failure can be attributed to an exact current HPTA suffix. Named model labels: HPTU-50N; HPTA-66.

r/heatpumps · Shopping and owner follow-ups

AO smith heat pump water heaters on Reddit (opens in a new tab)

A shopper considers the HPS10-80H45DV Signature 900. Replies describe compressor or control-board failures, installation labor charges, and a replacement that continued working. This mixed retail-family discussion does not independently verify the exact HPTA model or provide a representative reliability sample.

Which model does this cover? The initiating shopper names Signature 900 HPS10-80H45DV. Replies concern other A. O. Smith units; this is not an exact HPTA review. Named model labels: HPS10-80H45DV; HTPS-66 (participant spelling).

r/Plumbing · Purchase decision

Heat Pump Water Heaters on Reddit (opens in a new tab)

A homeowner compares contractor quotes for Rheem and older A. O. Smith hybrids, then later says they selected HPTA-80. Discussion concerns features, equipment pricing and installation charges. It documents purchase reasoning, not verified HPTA operating performance or current market prices.

Which model does this cover? The homeowner says they chose HPTA-80 after discussing quotes. No exact HPTA suffix or installed operating experience is established. Named model labels: HPTA-80; HPTU-80N-130; PROPH80 T2 RH400-SO.

How we read and use these discussions

These are our original summaries of publicly retrieved posts and comments, not a live Reddit feed or a verified-purchase review collection. The displayed date records our research read; a retrieved copy may lag the live thread. We do not claim to include every comment or verify owner identities. Questions, commercial participation, different capacities and generations stay labeled.

We do not turn thread participants into review totals, combine them with retailer ratings, infer failure rates, or use their quoted prices as current offers. Dated reading notes remain available as research; ratings and other time-sensitive source observations have separate expiry rules. Editorial re-reading is due seven days after the recorded read, without automatically changing that date.

Equipment prices, not installed quotes

Where to buy and what it costs

We check Home Depot, Lowe’s, Menards and SupplyHouse.com first. Prices exclude installation, permits, accessories, tax, shipping and rebates unless explicitly stated.

No eligible current seller price is available. A new source check is required before an amount can appear; expired prices are withheld.

Direct, non-affiliate links. Family-variant and list prices are labeled; neither means the pictured exact model is in local stock.

Validate the product evidence

Official specifications and documents

Use these primary manufacturer documents to verify the comparison facts for the exact model.